If you create a new Service from the "Create New: Service" link in the Services & Workflow section of the Customer Profile screen, it will not immediately be visible in this section.

The reason for this is that this method of service creation does not provide a method for adding products to the service during the creation process. If a service does not have a product assigned to it, the service will be in a "Disconnected" status until one is assigned. To see disconnected services within the Services & Workflow section, you must check the "Include Inactive Services" box located at the top of this section. Once made visible, you can go to Options --> Add Service to add a Product to the service. Afterwards, the service will always display whether the "Include Inactive Services" box is checked or not.